Lorne MacLeod has been elected as the new Chairman of the representative body for community landowners in Scotland.

Community Land Scotland has 57 members from throughout Scotland, including some well known and high profile buyout groups in Eigg, Knoydart, Assynt, and Harris. There are currently over 500,000 acres of land in Scotland in community ownership, and the Scottish Government has set a target of 1M acres in community land ownership by 2020.

Mr MacLeod was a founding member of Community Land Scotland, and has had an extensive involvement in community land ownership stretching back to the 1990s. He was most recently a board member of the 93,000 acre community owned estate covering the islands of Eriskay, South Uist and Benbecula in the Western Isles.

Mr MacLeod said, ‘I am delighted to take over as Chairman of Community Land Scotland at this time, with a Community Empowerment Bill moving forward through Parliament, and a new Land Reform Bill forthcoming. There are greater opportunities now than ever before for communities to take forward the ownership of land in order to sustain their communities through job creation, new business growth, housing construction, and delivering the development of a wide range of community projects.’

At the AGM, two new board members were also elected; Margaret Nicolson, Chair of Urras Baile Fhlòdaigearraidh (Flodigarry Township Trust, Skye), and Margaret McSporran, Chair of the Isle of Gigha Heritage Trust.




Photograph of Lorne MacLeod, Chairman, Community Land Scotland attached


1 Lorne MacLeod is a chartered accountant who specialises in working with charities and community businesses. He is also a director of a retail and distribution business based in Skye. His LinkedIn profile can be found in:

2 David Cameron of the Isle of Harris was the first Chairman of Community Land Scotland and retired from the role at the AGM held in Inverness on 21st May 2015.

3 For further information, please contact:

Lorne MacLeod 07799 224869